If you are connected to a network and you have shared some folder, then it is visible to all the users in the network. But you can make the shared folders invisible. Here is a simple trick to make shared folders invisible so that only known users can access the folder.
1. Navigate to the folder which is shared across the network. Right click on the folder and select Rename.
2. Add a ‘$‘ to the end of the folder name (without the single quotes). For example if the folder name is Blogging, rename it to Blogging$.
3. Now you can share the folder and people who know about the folder can use it.