Home / Windows 7 / Get the Rupee Symbol in Windows 7 and Vista

Get the Rupee Symbol in Windows 7 and Vista

Indian Government has officially released the new symbol for Indian Rupee recently and this symbol was not available in Windows 7. Microsoft has now released a new update for Windows Vista and Windows 7. This update (KB 2496898) adds support for the new currency symbol for the Indian Rupee. This update includes font support, locale changes, and keyboard support.


Before the new symbol was adopted by India for its currency, the Rupee was abbreviated as either Rs or Re, although Indian language alternatives also existed.

To apply this update, you must be running one of the following operating systems:

  • Windows Vista Service Pack 2 (SP2)
  • Windows Server 2008 Service Pack 2 (SP2)
  • Windows 7
  • Windows 7 Service Pack 1 (SP1)
  • Windows Server 2008 R2
  • Windows Server 2008 R2 Service Pack 1 (SP1)

More details on the update available here.

Download Update for Indian Rupee

About Nirmal

Nirmal is a Technology Blogger and a Microsoft MVP in Windows. He can be contacted at nirmal@nirmaltv.com. You can find Nirmal on , and .

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *